First Rain of The Season

So, I  just finished mixing the drinking chocolate in the milk. And, I hear the first few drops of rain. And I’m happy. Just looking at the rain, I’m happy and I’m singing to my sister, “The rain’s finally here.” She, being her, rolls her eyes. I don’t know why I was so happy – maybe because it would be a welcome respite from all the heat or maybe because the romantic season is finally here or it may be due to the freshness it brings. It feels like the arrival of a long-awaited guest! Some associate this season with gloom and dread while some with romance and its playfulness. For me, it’s the latter.

Now, the rain’s steadily increasing – the constant splattering on the pavement, the trees swaying this way and that, the cars splashing fellow pedestrians with water and me, sitting in my balcony, sipping my chocolate and writing this post. The clouds are gurgling and oh my god – I just remembered the clothes! Never mind, now. They’re, probably, already dripping!

I can already hear the singing of the peacocks. And now, the unbearable humidity is gone; there’s just cool drafts wafting in. I feel happy, and I want you to be happy, to share with my happiness.

It feels like the trees are saying something, they’re dancing, asking me to join in, the peacocks are calling me, the clouds are playing, and I remember my mother’s advice “Don’t go out to play in the first rain,” and I sit back down. But I can still enjoy from here and that’s it for now, I’m keeping my tab down.

Be happy!

Author: rainbowjh

I am fond of cycling and long walks near the end of the day. I love reading, writing, learning new things, dancing, editing, annoying my little sis. Do check out my posts. I am not able to update regularly but hope you do end up liking the posts. Also, I'll be happy to edit any post or book if you are looking for someone to go over it, just let me know in advance in the comments.

Leave a Reply

